Vaya con Dios Mame

Dearest beloved Mame,

From that very first meeting lightning struck
Electric emotions lit up my life.

You unselfishly shared your intelligence.
It has enriched my own thoughts and decisions.

You delicately shared with me your beliefs.
My professional and personal life improved.

You gifted me with your love of children.
I have grown to love yours as my own.

You forth rightfully shared your care for animals.
It has changed my views and donations.

You demonstrated your wish to give back to your community
It has made me proud and given me an example to live by.

Against norms you openly gifted me with your life and love.
It has changed my life. I look forward to every next moment.

My life is forever changed, forever filled
You have filled my life with all you can give.

Now, you have given your ultimate gift.
You gave your life.

I stand here grateful for each and every moment
Remembering the last moments we shared.

I have spread your beautiful flowers upon your casket
They carry and contain my sad emotions with this task.

Nothing can demonstrate my grief at my loss   
The loss of your presence next to me each day.

Beloved, you will be with me in all I do
Your contribution and sharing have forever changed me.

Thank you Mame my dearest, my heart.
Vaya con Dios my darling.
 

Yours forever,

Frank Lloyd Wright

Originally written:   January 24, 2010

  • The following prose was written after reading the book Loving Frank by Nancy Horan in 2009.    I was so taken by the story  this poem/prose came out of  my thoughts and feelings.     This poem was written for the moments when Frank Lloyd Wright was looking down into Mame’s grave where her casket was covered with flowers from her garden.   I believe Mame was Frank’s soul mate.    He read this letter to Mame as a final good-bye.  
One response to “Vaya con Dios Mame

  1. Melody J Haislip

    What a fascinating and complex man. Another visionary! I’m glad that he and Mame found each other. She seems to have brought out the best in him, which is really saying something.

Leave a Reply

