Who am I? Let me introduce myself.

  • Who am I? Let me introduce myself.
    • I am not the person you see before you.
    • I am not the person you hear.
    • I am not the person you hold in your arms.
    • I am not the person you share your quiet moments with.
    • I am not the person you have memories of.
    • I am not the person you create memories with.
    • I am not the person I think I was or am.
  • I am much more!
    • I am multi-faceted – too many to count.
    • I am a paradox.
    • I am a contradiction.
    • I am whole, but yet separate.
    • I am split personalities, but integrated.
    • I am loving and hateful.
    • I am warm and yet distant or aloof.
    • I am an extrovert, but very private and shy.
    • I am fun-loving jokester and yet wary of offense or offending.
    • I am decisive and yet cannot make a  decision on occasion.
    • I am strong in my convictions and willing to hear new thoughts.
    • I am stubborn, but willing to change to accomodate others.
    • I have “hot flashes” of old memories. 
      • These memories are as real as if they just happened.  I feel happy, embarrassed, or angry all over again.
    • I forgive myself of my transgressions and strive not to have to learn lessons twice.
    • I am confident of myself, but I doubt my abilities.
    • I am sensitive of others, but I am also unfeeling.
    • I cry real tears, but stuff the emotions.
    • I am brave, but a coward.
  • The list goes on and on.  
    • I am not different that any other person,
    • Even you the reader of these musings.
    • Each human is capable of thought and action is similar.
  • I like who I am! 
    • This was not always true. 
    • There were times that were only one set of footprints in the sand
    • And they weren’t mine.
  • I hope you like who you are. 
    • You are as deserving as I am.

Originally written on    March 10, 1994   Feb

Leave a Reply

