I Have Looked Into the Eyes

  • I Have Looked Into the Eyes

 

  • I have looked into the eyes of a one year old child.
    • There was wonder, amazement, desire to understand,
    • And most of all I saw trust and love
  • I wonder if there is a cycle to life in regards to love,
    • understanding and trust.
  • When I looked into the eyes of my grandson,
    • And seeing  wonder, love and trust.
  • I came upon the thought that in the middle years
    • After childhood,  children lose the wonder, amazement,
    • Love and trust.  In many cases it is replaced with apathy,
    • Confusion, mistrust, and despair.  
  • Look around at the people  around you. 
    • Look into their eyes.
    • Do you see wonder, amazement, desire to understand
    • And most of all trust and love?
  • Further, I have seen the wonder, amazement, desire to understand,
    • Love and trust in the eyes of the very old.  
  • I have begun to wonder,
    • Is there a cycle to our lives?

 

Originally written:  February 7, 1996

One response to “I Have Looked Into the Eyes

  1. This is so timely for me. Its funny how I couldnt put into words what I was feeling until I read this. You have a real talent to connect, thank you.

Leave a Reply

