Music Touches Me

  • Music touches my ears,
    • And melts into my soul.
  • Music truly soothes
    • The savage beast inside me.
  • From bagpipes to woodwinds,
    • Bass to violin, even the drums.
  • From Japanese to timpani reach in,
    • And touch the magic places.
  • I hear and world pressures
    • Fade into the distance.
  • I am changed by the melody,
    • As if a switch was turned on.
  • A light comes into
    • The dark places of my soul.
  • Sometimes I feel energized
    • To take on the world one more time.
  • Other times I am relaxed, composed,
    • And very distant from my stressors.
  • Music seeps deep inside.
    • Yes, music touches me.

Originally written:   September 25, 1996

  • As a young boy I took lessons on accordion and percussion instruments.  As an adult  I enjoy music from hard rock bands to symphonic music.   Jazz seems to be my favorite at the moment.  In the past, New Age, Classical, and Country Western music had their time in my listening schedule.    I play my music louder when I have a migraine and somehow it helps.   It sounds strange or at least it does to me. 
2 responses to “Music Touches Me

  1. Beautifully said. I can really identify with this.

Leave a Reply

