Pain Is With Us

  • Pain is with us.
    • It just is.
  • Not as punishment
    • No, then why?
  • Why, why you ask?
    • It just is.
  • Part of life,
    • To endure, to absorb.
  • Oh, but why?
    • I do not like pain!
  • Pain is with us.
    • To overcome, to change us.
  • No not as punishment,
    • Nor even as a lesson.
  • Part of life.
    • To live is to feel pain.
  • Why, Well really?
    • I am sorry, I don’t know…

Originally March 26, 1997

  • I was feeling quite a bit of pain from my lower back and legs.  I, like others that experience chronic pain  ask the obvious question “Why?”   Some believe it is punishment for sins committed.  I have come to a different conclusion. Once I accepted pain was going to be part of my life for a long time  I came to the realization  to survive chronic pain  or illness I had to change.  I had to change my outlook on life. I had to learn to endure, absorb the pain, and spread it out making it endurable.  I had to learn to redirect my life.  I learned to fight to overcome.  There is no right or wrong of pain.  Pain is part of life.   A very sad part of life.  I learned to be glad to be alive.  I learned to say thank you each morning for the gift of a new day.  I learned to say thank you and release myself to GOD’s hands each night and be happy.
Leave a Reply

