Just Another Man

  • I am just another man,
    • Not great, good, or bad,
    • Just another man.
  • I have a lot of desires,
    • Not great, good, or bad,
    • Just another man.
  • I have achieved, and will achieve,
    • Not great, good, or bad,
    • Just another man.
  • I have made and will make mistakes,
    • Not great, good, or bad,
    • Just another man.

Originally written:   April 15, 1997

  • Reflection on my humanity.  I am not any better than any other man, nor worse.  I am happy I am who I am.  I am grateful for my lot in life.  I am gifted with “enough.”
4 responses to “Just Another Man

  1. this is a good poem , well delivered and well patterned.

  2. “I am gifted with “enough.”

    What about

    “I am gifted with visions of ‘more'”?

    By that, I mean visions and imaginings, not cravings.

    I love your quiet acceptance of what is and the gentle rejection of needing to compare and be better.

  3. Frank-this reminds me of one of my favorite Zen quotes: “The truly noble man is the man of no concern and no ado. Don’t try to be ingenious or clever. Just be ordinary.” This is a wisdom that has almost been lost today. Glad to see you have it.

  4. Lovely, simple and sincere, and with a deep sense of peace. An inspiration. Thank you Frank.

    To the world ‘just another man’ but not to God. To God not even ‘just another son’ – but a glorious individual, known, loved, cherished, and ‘delighted in.’

    Bless you,

    Jerry

Leave a Reply

