I Pick Up My Pen

  • It is with a will I pick up a pen to jot down a few words to record my musings.   This process puts me into a very meditative state of mind.  I find more and more often I pursue this environment.  It is warm,friendly, and cozy producing a euphoric state of happiness.  I find myself in a heightened state of awareness to all I am surrounded by or enmeshed in.  Each experience is far more enjoyable to participate in.
  • I am so very lucky!  I have seen so many others less fortunate.  I have my health, both mental and physical.  I have my family, brothers, children, wife, and even an ex-wife. I have friends and work associates that are a joy to be around.  They enrich my life.   I have a good  job.  
  • Yes, I am so very lucky!     Isn’t well-being just a state of my mind?  If you are happy and satisfied, isn’t that the ideal state of existence to pursue?  Money is  not what brings about happiness.
  • I am so lucky!  I am happy in my circumstance. I could be happy in other circumstances.  The feeling begins with “Thankfulness.”

Originally written:  April 16, 1997

  • This is true today as it was thirteen years ago when I wrote this entry in my journal..  I have found writing down my thoughts and feelings in the form of poetry relaxing.  
One response to “I Pick Up My Pen

  1. This is wonderful and such a joy to read. I love how it applies then and now just the same. It is how I hope to be as well. I chose happy and content, now and forever, with maybe a few bumps to get over.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

