Where Am I Going?

  • Where am I going?
    • I am growing older,
    • Experiencing many wondrous events,
    • Wiser too, I know,
    • But of what value?
  • I wonder, at times.
    • What contribution will I make?
    • Small or great?
    • There hopefully is value.
  • I know, to me
    • There is great value of those
    • I Meet, share, and love.
    • Most respond in kind.
  • I need not be remembered.
    • It is enough!  Each life touched
    • Is improved in some way.
    • That is the value I seek!
  • That is where I am going.

originally written:  August 6, 1997

  • This poem is a thought on “For what will I be remembered?”   It is the musing on what value my life will have had.   Along the way I attended a week-long class by Stephen Covey, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People.   I came away with a mission statement for myself.  Over the years it has boiled down to be simply;  Be Helpful!   I strive to live up to that motto.
Leave a Reply

