Ker – Thump, Ker – Thump

  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • My heart beats.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • I live. I live.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • I love. I love.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • You are. You are.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • I am.  I am.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • My heart beats faster.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • You live.  You live.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • You love.  You love.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • We are.  We are.
  • Ker – thump, ker – thump.
    • We love.  We love.
  • Ker – thumpity  – thump.
    • Our hearts beat together.

Originally written:  November 5, 1997

  • When I fall asleep I can sometimes hear the beat of my heart.  It goes ker -thump, ker – thump.  It is a rhythm to fall asleep to.  As I was waiting to fall asleep the words to this poem comes into my mind as I hear; “Ker – thump, ker – thump. I live.”  The rest of the words fill in.   Along the way I come to the point I know I am not alone and the poem expands.   I read it today and the feelings I had come back as fresh as that day.  I have wondered whether the heart beats of lovers change so they beat in rhythm together.  There are those precious moments between lovers when it seems not only possible, but very likely.  
  • I dedicate this poem to all lovers.
Leave a Reply

