Stress and Persistence

Stress wears like iron.
It weighs even more
Upon ones shoulders.
Using it’s energy frees even me.
To overcome the challenge.

Stress can be shed
Through exercise of mind and body.
Quack, Quack, it runs off of my feathers
Like water off of a ducks back.

I seek to learn how to not let the fretting get me wet,
And when I am wet how to shake anguish off
Like the duck in the rain.  Quack, Quack.

I am sometimes successful.
At other times,  I lose sleep
Like everyone else.

Yet, persistence will win the day.
I am confident in a war of stress versus persistence
Skilled persistence will win.
Originally written:  April 15 1998

I learned this lesson the hard way through living with stress 
for many years and leading others into and during crisis.
These situations usually had corporate executive visibility
and in many had serious financial consequences if not
resolved as quickly as humanly possible.   I soon found I
could use the power of stress to get things accomplished.
Stress also was relieved with succeeding to resolve the
Clients issues. 

It was stress of revenue endangered, urgency of time,  difficulty  in understanding the problems, anger, distrust, and no known solution.  Opposing this was skill, determination,  persistance, communication, and integrity.

Leave a Reply

