Hope…

Hope is the presence of the belief
“It will be better!”

Hope for a “thing”, “to be”,  or “not to be”
Provides meaning.

Yes meaning!
Meaning for the meaningless.

Without hope, a vision of the future
Is without purpose.

Yes it is meaningless!

I somehow think “hope”
Is a “gift” from our Creator.

Some people are blessed with it.
Others are searching.

Originally written:   January 6, 1999

There was a day in my life when hope seemed to disappear.
There were a lot of things that went into the feeling of
hopelessness.  It had built up over several years.  I picture it
like tiny grains of sand piling up around my feet.  Slowly I
was being buried. My feet and legs locked  by the sand
into one position unable to escape.  My future was dark
and without hope. 

I took my 68 Chevy Biscayne  white station wagon for a
drive alone up into the Rocky Mountains on a curvy
two lane road named Left Hand Canyon.  I drove up to the
top very despondent over the way life had beaten me down
and kept me down. My chest felt like a ton was sitting on it
making it hard to breathe. My mind racing to find a way to
solve all the dilemmas I was facing.   I stopped at the top
I turned the car around and sped down the mountain road
with the intent of going straight on a curve that had a thousand
foot drop.  The car came to that corner and skidded
precariously close. but turned that corner.  I slowed down
and drove home.  I can’t tell you how the car made it through
that curve.  Once on the other side of that curve everything
changed.
 
After that moment I decided I was in charge.  I was not
going to let others dictate how I was going to feel.  Life has
dropped a lot of lemons onto my lap.  I had a lot credit card
debt, got divorced, lost custody of my kids due to an
alcoholic attorney mistakes, my job was closed down, and I was
forced to move 1200 miles away from my children.   

I have never lost hope again.  I know there are good days and
bad days. I know how to use lots of lemons to make lemonade,
lemon with beer, tea, and even on salads.   I have become
versatile in dealing with both the good and bad events. 

I share my personal experience in the I desire others would there
is hope and better days and have the same faith in the future I have.

3 responses to “Hope…

  1. Real hope, I think, is a trust in oneself, that one can handle whatever comes along.

  2. Wonderful and inspirational, Frank. You are indeed a new blessing in my life.
    You know, I really believe that it is only when we are truly broken and surrender completely, that our lives begin to change. Its when we surrender, that we give God room to do his stuff.
    There is so much in this post I identify with, the divorce, the financial ruin, the divorce, the broken family and for me the pits of alcoholism. I too got to a point where I no longer cared and I gave up. I made one last phone call, and the woman on the other end of the phone said ‘sweetheart it is going to be okay, and she told me her story.’ At that very moment, I too got hope. That hope has developed into trusting my guts and an abiding faith that I am here for a reason. That reason I believe is just what you said; to share my experience stregth and hope with others until they get hope of their own.
    Smiles and blessings.

  3. Seeing the juxtaposition of poetry and prose all those years apart is powerful and life affirming. Thank-you.

Leave a Reply

