Life is a Continuum

  •  I see my life as a footstep
    • In a water puddle!
  • It is present while the foot
    • Is in the puddle.
  • It vanishes quickly when
    • The step is completed
    • And the foot moves on.
  • I am here now enjoying,
    • Accomplishing dreams,
    • And planning for future dreams.
  • Yet, the knowledge of “temporary-ness”
    • Of achievements and material things,
    • Permeates all I am.
  • Splish, Splash, Splish

 

  • Originally written:   February 17, 1999

 
I wrote this at a moment when the “temporary-ness” of life
came into my mind.   I had lost several close friends to illness
and death.  I had seen friends and work mates disappear in
in a matter of hours.  The realization of how impermanent
everything is in one’s life. 

The image of a footprint in a water puddle came to mind.
I realized at that moment I was not irreplaceable in my job
or in my life.  It provided a new perspective on life.   I renewed
my effort to take life with a lot more humor.  It had a nice
effect on my stress level and my blood pressure.   It significantly
reduced the tension I had in crisis meetings with staff and
clients.

It also provided an opportunity to elevate others for their
efforts.  I no longer needed to have credit for things that I
led or helped accomplish. It freed me to take more risks
and share the successful results. 

If all we are and do is temporary and impermanent then
we are free to attempt the impossible or improbable.
Failure is only temporary and the more we try the more
successes we can experience.  Splish, Splash, Splish.

4 responses to “Life is a Continuum

  1. Frank, this reminds me to go splash in a puddle the next time it rains. As children we splash in puddles because we can. As adults, we forget, or feel silly or fill in the blank.

  2. Frank, what a great image to describe the evanescence of experience. I’m going to remember that one. “Kiss the joy as it flies,” as Blake said.

  3. I love the delicate explosions of truth that you seem to encounter and share with us, Frank. Splashes and splishes are such gloriously profound revelations of truth – each one unique and uniquely experienced.

    “If all we are and do is temporary and impermanent then
    we are free to attempt the impossible or improbable.
    Failure is only temporary and the more we try the more
    successes we can experience.”

    How fantastically liberating and empowering that is! Oh, I do want to remember it always. ALWAYS! That should be my motto in life and boy, what a life that would be!

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

