Too Much To Do

There is too much to do.
The list is endless

I take one item at a time.
Avoiding the guilty feelings,
About all that is undone.

I awake each day with excitement
And sleep each night exhausted.

Yes, there is too much to do.
Each day is an accomplishment.

Originally written:  April 12, 2000

Life is filled with too much to do.  I have found that
depression can be the result of guilt related to “The
List of  To Do’s.”    The list will always exist, even after
we are gone.   I have found that separating myself from
ownership of the list brings moments of guilt free
living.  I strive not to feel guilty that the list is so very
long.  Many of the items on the list have been there
for what seems forever.   Yes, I have changed the format
of the list too many times to count.  From A, B, C
priorities to important, read now, must  do and other
schemes to control the list and the associated guilt
that comes by not completing the items on the list.

It is letting the list be just a list and not feeling guilty
that every waking moment I am attacking the  items
on the list to reduce the list.  Oh yes, I do work on
the list when it suits me not when the guilt tells me to.

Now, I must say there was a day, a week, a month
and even several years when the list was all important.
However, I found the effort unsatisfying and not
rewarding.  It got to be a treadmill going faster and
faster as I warmed up to the tasks.  

I now have fun and smile at the list and tell it;  “Wait
for me!  I will be there soon, chuckle-chuckle.”

4 responses to “Too Much To Do

  1. This is a great post, Frank. You are right, leaving aside the guilt is the important part.

  2. I agree, Frank. Do what’s reasonable to do and stop there. No point wrecking one’s health or driving oneself crazy.

  3. There was a time when I would get troubled by unfinished items on my mental or paper lists but I’ve learned to remind myself that the purpose of my life is not to complete lists whether for my own or someone else’s benefit.

    And while I certainly don’t wish to be a burden on anyone else by leaving unfinished business for them to sort out when I am gone, I am pretty certain that most items I’ve had on my list have little to do with such matters.

    So I’m happy to do what I can and happy to review what’s left and decide if I really need to do them or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

