Listen to the Rain

Sit still.
Listen to the rain.

Can you distinguish
Each rain drop?

Let the sounds soak
Into your bones.
.
Can you feel the vibrations
Of the raindrops?

Let the wetness
Wash over you.

Try to relax
With the massage?

Rain drops put me
Into a meditative state.

Rain drops are like a drum
That focuses thoughts.

Rain drops draw me deeper
And deeper within myself.

I remember the joy
Of swimming in the rain!

Originally written: January 19, 1995

Sitting and listening to rain falling is a very enjoyable pastime
for me.  Listening to the raindrops puts me into a meditative
state.  Watching a storm approach across the valley or
horizon is exciting to me. It takes me deeper into thoughts
within my mind.  It brings memories back to become
fresh and hot much like a hot flash. 

To walk in the rain or just lie out on the dock and let the
raindrops provide the cleansing shower to wash all the bad
feelings away are magical moments.   These are the
precious jewels never to be sold.

2 responses to “Listen to the Rain

  1. Hey Frank, how synchronous this is…to find your poem about rain today!

    You see, at work, my colleagues were having a discussion in which they concluded that I, unlike them, would enjoy walking in the rain. How right they were. In fact, I love the rain. I find it so comforting, so intimate, so renewing.

    You poem captures so simply and gently, your experience of rain, one that I can so easily relate to 🙂

    • @TBT Thank you for you comment. It is strange and wonderful to know the poem had perfect timing for you.. It is a good feeling to sit on a dock with feet in the water and listen to the rain.

Leave a Reply

