Caught in the Act

To observe the instant a child learns is a miracle.


I am amazed,
And in awe.

To see a baby,
Or a young child

Caught in the act,
Of seeing something for the first time.

The arms, legs
of constant motion stops.

The eyes open wide
Seem to be absorbing.

It is as if I can see
The child’s mind learning.

It is a wondrous sight,
A treasured moment.

Originally written: January 11, 2004

I saw a baby in a stroller see a robin sitting on a branch for the first time. I was totally captivated by the baby staring at the bird. For it’s part the robin chirped and chirped calling for a mate. The child stopped all motion and just looked at the bird. I could see her eyes widen and focus on the bird. It was absorbing and the thought came to mind was the baby was learning. I was elated to have watched the child see the robin red breast for the first time.

2 responses to “Caught in the Act

  1. Too bad the wonder and magic fades after a while. But I guess it doesn’t have to if you don’t let it. Nice post.

  2. How beautiful innocence is. I’ve often sat watching nearby children. They’re so inquisitive and awestruck over the small things in life. I wish I was still like that! Hope you are well, Frank 🙂

Leave a Reply

