Ode to My Daughter Janine

Image
Family Gathering to Honor Janine
 
Our family and friends gather
In celebration and grief.
 
A time to cry and morn
Sharing the grief and pain
 
A time to say “Good-bye”
Remembering special moments.
 
A time to cherish
Each others precious memories.
 
Our family gathers
In reluctance and prayers.
 
A time to joyously
Share the family stories of a life shared.
 
A time to laugh and chuckle
One last time remembering together.
 
A time of healing
A sacred moment of sealing our memories.
 
A time well spent
A final honor of a life shared.
 
Janine, my darling daughter.
I give you my blessing one last time
 
May our loved ones who have passed over
Greet you with open arms.
 
May your struggles be replaced
With the joy of singing in THE CHOIR.
 
May you watch and guide
Family and friends to avoid pitfalls.
 
I send my love
Sealed within my heart.
 
May God Bless and Keep you in his arms forevermore.
My dearest Janine.
4 responses to “Ode to My Daughter Janine

  1. Frank, I’m so sorry to hear of your daughter’s death, Your poem is a beautiful and heartfelt tribute. I know you’re a man of deep feeling and this must hurt very much.

  2. Melody J Haislip

    Frank, I followed you back here from my blog because of your remark about grieving. I’m so, so sorry. I’m supposed to be getting notices when you write here, but it’s not happening. I can’t even imagine how you were able to write such a beautiful poem about her. She looks like a lovely woman, and I feel that she was very lucky to have had you for a father. My prayers and thoughts are with you.

  3. Oh my dear Frank,

    We had no idea you had lost your daughter. We am deeply saddened for the separation you feel, and the struggle she endured. Our love and heartfelt support is inadequate expression. Your Janine … very beautiful, and her joy is obvious evidence that she came from a happy home.

    Many hugs,

    Theresa and Joe Hall

Leave a Reply

