I walk in the forest

Walk Among

Come walk with me.

I walk in the forest

Of human beings

 

Like you, like me

Our friends, our non-friends.

 

They are many and varied

Sizes and shapes.

 

Short legs, short arms and bodies

In endless combinations

 

Skin in shades and colors of bark

Are many as the grains of sands

 

Pale white or yellow

To dusk and even midnight.

 

From homeless and discarded

To rich and empowered

 

Their beliefs in Gods and spirits

Many heartfelt, others heartless.

 

From agnostic to zealot

Evoking love and others hate

 

To walk in this forest

One must be alert and vigilant.

 

 

 

I walk in the forest

Of human beings

 

I have walked amongst humans

For three score and a half more.

 

I became a connoisseur of watching

Sitting unnoticed, but noticing.

 

I found when I scratched someone

They bled like me regardless of skin color

 

The pain and anguish they felt

Was similar to mine.

 

No shape or size

Made any difference.

 

I find the differences

Are to be cherished.

 

I read and viewed media

About senseless aggression

 

Famine, natural disasters

Earthquake, or disease epidemic

 

I have witnessed displacement

A human column of immeasurable grief

 

Suffering starvation

And deprivations

 

Also domestic violence

To terrorism in schools,

 

Revenge or an action

To get attention to a cause.

 

Or war in far-flung nations

Inflicting harm and death.

 

Our little blue marble is cluttered

With collateral damage.

 

Even soldiers afflicted

By PTSD created by chaos of war.

 

Or by the violence in

our neighborhood or home.

 

I physically hurt

When I come into contact

 

In person or via media

I shudder trying to comprehend

 

Both the victims

And perpetrators.

 

I am at a loss

And feel sad and helpless

 

My heart has been

Broken and beaten.

 

 

 

I walk in the forest

Of human beings

 

Yet, I have hope

Even in the darkest moments

 

I wonder where

This optimism comes from

 

 

Created September 15, 2017

 

 

 

2 responses to “I walk in the forest

  1. From your beautiful heart!

Leave a Reply

